top of page

This resource keeps your travel plans and memories at your fingertips

Updated: Nov 1, 2021

For most RVers, making camping memories involves a lot of planning, sometimes a year in advance. Last year I started a camping wishlist spreadsheet. I have tabs for states that contain a campsite I've heard about or seen photos of and want to visit. As we get more camping under our belt, I thought it would be a good idea to track where we've been alongside specific details about the campground. So I created an all-in-one campground reservation/wishlist/maintenance spreadsheet.


I created this campground reservation spreadsheet with the intention of only using it to log destinations we have already visited. However, this spreadsheet may also make a great tool for organizing upcoming trips. There is space to track the address or GPS coordinates because let's face it, without GPS coordinates sometimes you'll drive in circles trying to find the campsite. Other features include logging details such as wi-fi and cell signal strength, discount club used, the type of parking pad, amenities, and much more. Most of the columns include dropdowns so you don't have to type everything out, but also to serve as a reminder of small details like hookups and noise level. I also included a place for notes, which can help jog your memory should you ever wish to visit that campsite again.


Bucket list destinations

As I mentioned in the beginning, I was already logging where I wanted to go. To stay organized and minimize the number of files I would have to keep up with I added a Bucket List tab. Use this tab to keep track of campsites you hear about from friends and social media. Sometimes I'll even copy and paste the URL of a social media post into my spreadsheet so I can refer back to it later.


The dirty side of RV life: maintenance

Your home on wheels requires lots of maintenance. I included a tab that covers details such as the maintenance type. This is broken down into RV operation, such as changing that smoke detector battery, or vehicle operation, such as an oil change.


I have already found my logging tools useful. Just the other day Will mentioned a campsite we visited, but he had it confused with another one. Thanks to my system I was able to (nicely) tell him he had it wrong. Isn't it fun to be right?!


Get your copy here.* You'll also find a hard copy version of the spreadsheet, bucket list and maintenance log in my Camping Journal. I keep our copy in the camper so it's always there to jot down our notes.


*Because I developed the spreadsheet to include dropdown features, you'll need to enable macros in order to open the Excel spreadsheet. To be on the safe side, I encourage you to run the file through your virus protection system after you download it.


laptop screen



*When you buy something we recommend, we may get an affiliate commission, but that doesn't affect what we post or your price. We donate all commissions to our favorite autism charity. Our blog is built on a free platform and is purely for fun and to share our experiences, so we're not making a profit from anything you might purchase.

bottom of page